Anne, Princess Royal

Scared of my boss, I did a stupid thing.
He wanted me to question Princess Anne
when she was jumping fences in a ring.
She went clear, cheered on by many a fan,
and brought her steaming mount to a neat stop.
Eager to get that damned quote, I moved in
but was thwarted by a diligent cop
who felt my collar, much to my chagrin.
“I’m just doing my job”, I protested
as the bodyguard ushered me away.
I was lucky I wasn’t arrested
otherwise there would have been hell to pay.

“Did you get a sexy quote?” asked my boss.
My feeble answer left him very cross.

Richard Foster
November 2016

When I worked for a news agency in the early 1980s, I was sent to Tweseldown, Hampshire, to cover the Queen’s only daughter, Princess Anne, competing in an equestrian competition. My desire to get a quote, direct from the horse’s mouth so to speak, landed me in a spot of bother.

Author: rjefoster

I am a budding musician and poet hoping to bloom.

Leave a Reply

