Vegan Dance Shoes

Rock, rock, back replace; rock, rock, back replace,
two basics, a shimmy and throw-away.
But please, please don’t step on my dancing shoes.
You see, they’re ethical in every way.

I could have chosen traditional leather
with a cowboy’s rhinestone encrusted sole
designed to dazzle on any dance-floor.
But I’m vegan, so no suede where I stroll.

I resigned myself to dancing bare-foot
but found a cobbler for people like me.
Now I can rock ’n’ roll with a conscience,
thanks to bespoke beauties made in Dundee.

Richard Foster
October 2016

Author: rjefoster

I am a budding musician and poet hoping to bloom.

Leave a Reply

